NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Fri Dec 03, 2021 2:27 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2011 3:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 2:38 pm
Posts: 5
Hello,
I am using NASLite-2 (actual 2.64) and I have moved the system to an Intel ITX board (D525MW)
because of the damage of the old hardware. The on board NIC has a Realtek RTL8111E chip installed.
Everything seems to work fine.
The problem is that I get no connection to my network and the NASLite system is not seen in my network.
NASLite reports at the tool menue "no link" and a huge amount of dropped packets.
The hardware diagnosis tool says:
"ID:10ec:8168[8086:d625] Kmod:r8169"
and under PCI devices is shown
RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Network.
The same is reported by several linux live distributions like Knoppix (K 2.6.37), easypeasy 1.6 and Ubuntu
but there is no problem using the network. The only difference I have discovered is that the other
Distribution often use the driver r8168 and not the r8169.
Can I do something to make it work?
Regards,

aehrisch


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2011 2:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 5:38 pm
Posts: 517
Location: gods own country
the fact that it works in other linux distros is no guarantee it will work in Naslite - if its not in the hardware guide - which it appears not to be then your best option is to add another card that is in the guide - for Gigabit many of the Intel cards work well

but again check the hardware guide - http://www.serverelements.com/?target=H ... _Reference


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2011 10:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 10:08 am
Posts: 129
Location: Sheffield UK
aehrisch wrote:
Hello,
I am using NASLite-2 (actual 2.64) and I have moved the system to an Intel ITX board (D525MW)
because of the damage of the old hardware. The on board NIC has a Realtek RTL8111E chip installed.
Everything seems to work fine.
The problem is that I get no connection to my network and the NASLite system is not seen in my network.
NASLite reports at the tool menue "no link" and a huge amount of dropped packets.
The hardware diagnosis tool says:
"ID:10ec:8168[8086:d625] Kmod:r8169"
and under PCI devices is shown
RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Network.
The same is reported by several linux live distributions like Knoppix (K 2.6.37), easypeasy 1.6 and Ubuntu
but there is no problem using the network. The only difference I have discovered is that the other
Distribution often use the driver r8168 and not the r8169.
Can I do something to make it work?
Regards,

aehrisch


Just a quick point but you have configured the NETWORK IP Address in NASLITE havent you it will NOT get one from DHCP.


Doug


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 10:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 2:38 pm
Posts: 5
Hello,

IP is set to a fixed address and there is no place at all to use another NIC (otherwise this post were surplus).
The CORE3 Network Device Support List says that the NIC is supported (?!).
How can I imagine that the choosen driver is not working?
Obviously NASLite is using a different driver as other distributions - it's a pity!

Attachment:
RTL8111_8168B.JPG
RTL8111_8168B.JPG [ 63.45 KiB | Viewed 38673 times ]


Aehrisch


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 9:26 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 4:01 pm
Posts: 801
Location: ServerElements
Quote:
The hardware diagnosis tool says:
"ID:10ec:8168[8086:d625] Kmod:r8169"
and under PCI devices is shown
RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Network.


If the hardware detection tool see's the nic, then we support it.

Check any cables, etc, if it's a dual port nic, make sure your connected to the first nic.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2011 8:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 2:38 pm
Posts: 5
Hello Ralph,

please see the attached pictures.
It doesn't matter if I configure FIRST NIC or LAST NIC still looks the same.
The network configuration says "Supported Ports: [Fiber]" whatever it means.
There is no way to choose a port isn't it?
The outside LEDs for link speed and activity say BLOCKED_WORD and sporadic aktivity
but NASLite is still unreachable and not seen in the network.
Attachment:
Page_1.jpg
Page_1.jpg [ 340.97 KiB | Viewed 38661 times ]

Attachment:
Page_2.jpg
Page_2.jpg [ 349 KiB | Viewed 38661 times ]

Best Regards,

Aehrisch


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:05 pm
Posts: 1687
Location: Up State NY in the USA!!!!
The rendering utility seems to think that the physical interface on the MB is a fibre rather than a copper port.

Tony and Ralph have in the past rolled a fix for the targeted cards issue, possibly this may be the remedy.

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2011 3:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 2:38 pm
Posts: 5
Hello,

I am wondering what position Tony & Ralph have to that issue.

In the meantime while waiting for a solution I have temporarily installed OpenFiler.
I am using the same hardware, cable, IP settings and network environment.
The configuration is finnicky and the handling is much more complicated than of NASLIte.
But the network connection is working and it detects the same NIC.

I am looking forward to get a solution/info/tip/patch to get my NASLite in action again
because it is still my favorite NAS.

Regards,

Aehrisch


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2011 12:36 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 4:11 pm
Posts: 1771
Location: Server Elements
The r8169 module supports an array of compatible chips. The RTL8111 series has revisions A, B, C, D and now E. It appears that revision E has firmware that does not play well with the existing NASLite-2 driver.

I'll have to research this further and take a look at r8168.

I'll post my findings and a possible move forward soon.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2011 2:07 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 4:11 pm
Posts: 1771
Location: Server Elements
There is a lot of noise online about the RTL8111E. Apparently, the OEM driver (r8168) is required for E. Looking at the 2.6.39 sources, things are not much different from what's in NASLite-2 currently.

As a general rule, we do not include OEM drivers with CORE3. Stable support for widely-used hardware finds its way into the kernel as things mature, so I'd prefer to follow that path. We have to make sure we don't brake existing while adding new.

Anyone else having this issue?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 6:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 6:05 am
Posts: 1
Hi!

I have the same problem. I installed NL and then i wanted to get my code via the HTTP. But i cannot connect via HTTP.....
I have also an ITX (AMD) MB and a realtek 8111E chip NIC !!
Because i think NL is a great and easy to use tool i ordered today an Intel NIC PCI-E card. Hopefully i can test it tomorrow.

Or have you allready a bugfix for this 8111E chip??

Thanks and keep up the goodwork!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2012 8:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 7:52 am
Posts: 2
Was there any resolution to this NIC issue for the Realtek 8111E?

I too recently purchased an ITX board from ASrock that uses this NIC. I'd like to use the on board network chip instead of adding a PCI network card.

MB with CPU: ASRock E35LM1 AMD E-240 APU AMD A50M Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Thanks!
mike mx


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2012 5:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 2:38 pm
Posts: 5
Hello,

Any news about this issue? :(

More and more motherboards are using the RTL8111E chip!
The board vendors documentation only shows RTL network chip, but when you unpack it you detect the RTL8111E.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 7:52 am
Posts: 2
Tony,

I would suggest that the Hardware Reference be modified to show the RTL8111 Version E is NOT compatible with Naslite2.

When I was looking for a new board to buy, I did check the hardware list, saw the RTL8111 was listed.

After installing naslite2, and checking many things, I finally searched for and found this thread, showing there are issues with the RTL8111E. It should be noted that version E does not work.

I'm ordering another compatible NIC.

I would greatly prefer using the onboard NIC RTL8111E.

Naslite is a nice little NAS, have been using it for more than 7 years.

Thanks,
mike maxton


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group