NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Sat Dec 07, 2019 11:57 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 12:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 12:06 am
Posts: 47
Location: Vancouver, B.C., CANADA
Hi,

I was hoping for some help :)

I was mucking around with my Naslite box because it kept constantly beeping every five minutes. Somehow my Naslite box wouldn't go off, and then it lost power. Upon rebooting I was receiving an error with the BIOS of the board, it reset itself. Board is an ASUS with a PIII 750 MHz and 288 MB of RAM.

Long story short, I had 3 HDs.

Disk 1 - 120 GB
Disk 2 - 500 GB
Disk 3 - CDROM
Disk 4 - 500 GB


Now when I boot, Disk 1 and Disk 4 show up, but disk 2 won't successfully mount :(

What can I do to transfer the files on there to disk 4? Is knoppix a good idea, or SystemRescueCD?

What can I do to backup/transfer the files and then format that drive again.

Thank you :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 1:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:05 pm
Posts: 1681
Location: Up State NY in the USA!!!!
Go look at the tools in the telnet console and try a repair from there first, likely just needs a bit of a fix there and all will be good. After. a reboot should show all the drives again.

If not then Knoppix and an FS check might be the next best bet. Barring a hardware failure of the drive your data is still there and not even close to lost. You will just need to fix the file system using FSCK.

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 2:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 12:06 am
Posts: 47
Location: Vancouver, B.C., CANADA
Hi Mike,

Thanks for the reply :) I already tried the repair from the telnet console, but no go :(

I guess knoppix it is then :)

Thank you again.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 5:28 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 4:11 pm
Posts: 1771
Location: Server Elements
Just a note: the drive you are trying to fscheck is 500g so it will be a RAM-intensive process. How much RAM is in your server. Unless you have 256M+ odds are that the task fails due to lack of memory.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 10:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 12:06 am
Posts: 47
Location: Vancouver, B.C., CANADA
Hello Tony,

The system has 288 MB of RAM, and all of the drives (save the 120 GB) are less than half full with large files.

Cheers,

:D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 12:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 12:06 am
Posts: 47
Location: Vancouver, B.C., CANADA
hmmm... knoppix would not load the livecd, it got past the initialization and just gave me a blank screen... tried the cd on another computer and it was okay on that system.

Anyways, this is the message that Naslite+ was giving me regarding disk 2:

Disk-2 Initialization Messages

1. Checking for Disk-2
2. Found Disk-2 partition
3. Attempting to fix Disk-2 filesystem
4. Disk-2 filesystem is not mountable

----------------
Disk-2 Hardware

* WDC WD5000AAKB-00YSA0, ATA DISK drive
* attached ide-disk driver.
* host protected area => 1
* 976773168 sectors (500108 MB) w/16384KiB Cache, CHS=60801/255/63, UDMA(66)

NOTE: Disk-2 is installed and can be configured for use with NASLite+.


Might try a ubuntu livecd to see if that will work.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 9:00 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 4:11 pm
Posts: 1771
Location: Server Elements
What version of NASLite+ are you using? Version 1.2 and newer will allow for a manual filesystem check using the admin menu. Did you try that?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 10:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 12:06 am
Posts: 47
Location: Vancouver, B.C., CANADA
Hi Tony,

I am trying that again... after running the file check I get some error messages that are:

Pass 1: Checking inodes, blocks, and sizes
Inode 491598 has illegal block(s). Clear (y)?


What should I do?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 9:38 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 4:11 pm
Posts: 1771
Location: Server Elements
Answer "Y" to all questions to allow filesystem repair.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 7:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 12:06 am
Posts: 47
Location: Vancouver, B.C., CANADA
Hi Tony,

Thank you for your help :) I think that I have found out what has been causing my problems all along.

I was using an ATI Radeon 7000 VE dual monitor video card, and it looks like it has been causing most of my issues in NASlite+. Linux does not seem to like the dual monitor video cards from ATI, and I could not get any Linux LiveCDs to work. I decided to remove the ATI Radeon 7000 VE and I installed an ATI Radeon PCI card (single monitor).

Suddenly, all of the LiveCDs I had worked on the NAS box, and I ended up using Knoppix to fix the problem HD and get everything up and running as it was before ;)

I am not sure if this is a big issue or not. I just wanted to report back with my findings and to say thank you for your support :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 11:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:05 pm
Posts: 1681
Location: Up State NY in the USA!!!!
Thanks for the heads up, it help others when you follow up like that.

The ATI video cards are generaly a problem. On my las box I did use an old RAGE64 card with 2MB of memory for the video. After I got the thing configured I simply removed it so as not to eat bandwidth from the PCI bus. There is no need to really have a video card in a NL box since they run "Headless", you might consider just removing the card now that all is good as insurance against any further problems.

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group