NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 2:31 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 6:11 am 

Okay... I'm a student... a PC (Win/Lin) guy about to go down the Apple Bootcamp path, and my thoughts on storage for this solution is to setup an independant GbNAS system that can connect all of my systems. NASlite+ looks like a solution that could suit me, but I have a few questions on hardware and how NASlite+ integrates.

I intend to build a modern, budget system for the NAS server. I'm currently spec'ing:

Gigabyte GA-K8VM800M
AMD Sempron 3100+ 64-Bit 256K 90nm
1 GB (2 pcs 512) DDR 400
(2) Hitachi (HDD0A300229) Deskstar 7400K 400GB 7200RPM SATA 8MBC
(2) "Laying Around" WD 80GB ATA133
(2) D-Link DGE-530T 32-Bit 1000 Base-T

Using a D-Link DGS-1008TL GigaExpress 8-Port Layer2 Gb Switch to connect my:

"Future" Dual Woodcrest (hopefully) Mac Tower
PPC Mac mini
P4 Portable (over Wifi, when roaming around the house)

The plan is to have my existing D-Link WiFi Router pipe broadband from the router to the switch and feed the systems at my work area.

I need a super fast connection between the Bootcamp Mac and the NAS, so I was wondering if I could "bridge" 2 Gb connections at using the NASlite+ system. I deal with large quantities of "LARGE" image files and while I don't need instantaneous transfer, I need it to be pretty snappy.

I'd also like to know if NASlite+ can work with USB2.0 External Drives in anyway. I'd like to be able to dump working files off the NAS when projects have ended.

Finally, I'd like to know if NASlite+ can work with any boot managers, I'd love the ability to be able to boot the NAS server with 64bit Linux in a pinch for extra rendering power.

Any input, comments or insight you can share would be great.

Thanks

JDex

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 7:31 pm