NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Sun May 27, 2018 3:41 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 3:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:04 pm
Posts: 109
Location: Belgium
Hi guys

I'm in a bind here
I've been building this M2 server for my brother in law with the hardware from my previous post

i had some trouble getting it to boot from the ide port
so I connected a generic 4 in 1 card reader and started from that one
works fine, but it shows 3 failed drives in the boot screen (the empty slots in the cardreader)

so I got an internal usb cf cardreader from delock
there were no markings on it on how to connect the 4 lead usb cable
so I guessed it and booted from it

first boot I got an error I've never seen before getting naslite to run
rebooted and now naslite starts

now it takes literally 10 minutes to get from this screen
Image


to this one
Image

on the bios side of the motherboard, everything non critical is off
serial, parallel, infrared port, onboard audio even the realtec 8111E networkadapter is off

The really funny thing is
the system log did show one time a 10 minute delay for the last entry
the last system log doesn't
it shows a 30 sec delay between the last entry's, even it took 10 minutes to get there

the system is off now as I'm fed up with it
Will post a syslog tomorrow

I've pulled 1 stick of ram to get away from the 4GB border
first time with 2GB ram, it booted perfectly
second time with 2GB ram, again the 10 minute holdup

now I really need some tips

Tim


Last edited by totalchaos on Fri Feb 22, 2013 9:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 8:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:05 pm
Posts: 1680
Location: Up State NY in the USA!!!!
May be a time server issue. This was talked about in another recent post and Tony or Ralph figured it out.

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 12:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 6:39 pm
Posts: 633
Location: California
mikeiver1 wrote:
May be a time server issue. This was talked about in another recent post and Tony or Ralph figured it out.

Mike

Yeah ... look here: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=3813&start=20


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 10:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:04 pm
Posts: 109
Location: Belgium
YEP,

that's it
Set the timeserver to 0.0.0.0 and warm or cold boot: no problems, up and running in no time

Let's see if I can find a timeserver closer to home that isn't crowded




THANKS GUYS !!!!!!!!!!

Tim


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group