NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Mon Nov 18, 2019 7:41 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Gigabit Nic
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 2:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 6
I would like to upgrade to a Gigabit Nic.
After searching the forums it seems that a 3com or Intel would be the best purchase.
The hardware list seems to be out of date.

Can anyone say which gigabit nics work, along with their part numbers if they are not on the reference list already?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gigabit Nic
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 3:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:05 pm
Posts: 1681
Location: Up State NY in the USA!!!!
I have used the Netgear GA621 until it failed, it was very fast and stable. I now have a 3Com 3C965SX card and its performance is fast and stable as well. Both of these are fiber based cards since I have a Gigabit switch with a pair of GBIC ports.

If you can find a 3Com 3C996T it should work well. The 3C2000 was based on the Marvel chip and I don't know how it does. I think Superboss uses an Intel Gb NIC but I don't recall the make I used when I had the card.

I wouldn't so much worry about the maker of the newer cards since they are all based on but a hand full of chip sets, the 8169 being one. All the cards are built using the same reference design from the chip maker. Dlink, Netgear, and Lynksys sell cheap Gb cards for around $25.00 to $30.00 each, all use the same chip by realtek and in fact the drivers all are the same as well. I just used a pair of cheap cards, $4.99 each, based on the Realtek 8169 chip and they performed just fine.

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gigabit Nic
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 4:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 4:27 am
Posts: 577
Location: Scotland
I've just (having spotted it in Mike's sig) bought a 3Com 3C985SX for £20, a 3Com Baseline Switch 2916 SFP-Plus for £120, an OEM SX transceiver for $57 and a 30m 50/125 optical SC to LC fibre optic patch cable for £15. Installed tonight and boy, is it swift! I will say that the switch is a bit noisy and will have to be re-sited to somewhere more acceptable.

Yes, it's overkill - but I've been thinking about networking the house for some time, so a new switch was in order. The 30m optical cable gives me lots of options as to where I site the server.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gigabit Nic
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 5:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 6
I saw this for less than $30 shipped and ordered it.

Intel PRO/1000 MT Desktop Adapter PWLA8391MT C39226

I'll let you know how it works out once everything is upgraded.

8)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gigabit Nic
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 7:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:05 pm
Posts: 1681
Location: Up State NY in the USA!!!!
It's damed hard to beat Fibre for reliable networking, I have pulled well over 3 million feet of Cat5e cable and terminated countless thousands of drops and I can tell you that though it works great it is not nearly as reliable at Gigabit speeds as fibre. Congrats on the new switch and NIC, you will notice the difference in the long run. The switch I have is noisy as well, most of the fast stuff is.

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gigabit Nic
PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 6
Intel PRO/1000 MT Desktop Adapter PWLA8391MT C39226 works fine in my system.

I'm not getting super fast speeds but that's an issue for me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gigabit Nic
PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:05 pm
Posts: 1681
Location: Up State NY in the USA!!!!
Try moving the NIC to a different PCI slot.

You may have issues with IRQs and the drive controller. IE. It may be sharing an IRQ with another device and this would cause poor read/write performance.

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gigabit Nic
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:38 am
Posts: 231
Location: Belleville MI
In my NASLite-M2 the Intel PRO/1000 MT Desktop Adapter works very fast and good.

-Raymond Day


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group