NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 3:22 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 3:09 pm 

Hiya,

PC beginner here, hoping I'll be able to cope with NASLite HDD. I've had a quick read of the hardware configurations that members have working at the moment, but have not noticed anything the same as I'm hoping to set up.

Do you think I'd be okay using an AMD300 with 300ish MB of ram, starting with 2x500gb ide hdd's, and expanding from there with more 500gb discs is that workable?

Look forward to hearing any coments,

Cheers
:)

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 3:41 pm 

This first machine I had it running on was an old Pentium 200MMX with 96MB of RAM and a gigabit NIC, it ran like a top for almost 2 years before I upgraded it to a celeron 400 and 256MB of RAM. Even at that there was not a whole lot of difference in performance. Almost any processor will provide great performance with NL.

I did have a problem with an older Duron 800 and a cheep motherboard just not being stable and hanging. It does happen from time to time that certain hardware just don't want to work. My personal preference is for an Intel motherboard and processor, they have just worked flawlessly for me in the past.

Good luck and welcome to the fold,

Mike

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 5:14 pm 

Thank you for your reply, nice to hear that the older chips can still perform well at something.

In theory it should be all okay then, just be unlucky if the board plays up.

Fingers Crossed,

I'll dig the old thing out tommorow,

Cheers

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 10:24 pm