NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 3:54 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 3:16 am 

Ok

WARNING WARNING ..... I'm A NEWB.

Now thats out of the way.... o_O

Ok here is the comp i have squirelled away..

500 MHz Intel Pentium (R) III processor
128mb SDRAM
Cache Primary 32 KB
Level 2 512 KB (on processor)

Has floppy and CD Rom Drive

Drive Bays
3.5-inch external 1
3.5-inch internal 1
5.25-inch external 2
5.25-inch internal 1
Combo external 1

BIOS
Phoenix 4.06 rev 1.06

This info was taken from here:
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/docu ... e=bph04899

Anyway i just got offered a few for free from a mate 320gb Seagate 7200rpm 16M Cache HDD.... so first question do i get IDE or ATA for this comp?

2nd Question...
Is this comp bootable from USB.... i hate floppy disks

3rd Question once i buy a network card (100mb) and plug it into my wireless router what do i have to do to my fiances XP and my Mac to make the drives show up on our computers?? Are these HDD's accessable just like ones in our computer eg pretty icon and drag and drop?

Ok so i told u i was a newb didn't i? lol this is my first inside a computer experience and i don't wanna wreck it so yeah

Anyway thanks heaps to anyone who replies

Mitch

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 3:48 am 

".... so first question do i get IDE or ATA for this comp?"

IDE and ATA are the same thing you noob! Just having fun with you. The interface cards are now refered to as ATA cards. You should be able to get a good one that will work great for around $20.00.

"2nd Question...
Is this comp bootable from USB.... i hate floppy disks."
That depends on the BIOS but I would guess no. You want the CD-ROM version of NL2.02 so it can boot off of the CD-ROM and only store the config on the floppy.