NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 4:30 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Pre Purchase Q&A
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 1:00 pm 

1. As I unerstand the free version has the 4Gb limit but the purchased version does not. If I purchased the suite and made a floppy using it does it have the 4Gb limit.

2. As I am planning on purchase after 2.0 release. Will the HTML interface be what is on the free version or will it look like the teaser if I make a floppy from the suite.

**I dont really plan on running from a CD or USB since as I understand you still need to use a floppy for the config file. For this reason I prefer to keep it all on the floppy but I'll buy the thing if the above have a positive answer.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 6:22 pm 

I'm not an expert on Naslite ( i only started using it about 6 weeks ago) but i don't think you can use Naslite+ from a floppy as it's not large enough to hold all the necessary files.
You're best off using the USB version if your hardware will boot from USB, You don't need a floppy using the USB version as the config is stored on the USB device.
Anybody please feel free to correct me.

I've had my test setup running for 38+ days without a hiccup (touchwood) using the USB version and it works a treat, definitely worth the money.

Edit
Think i'm probably wrong about the floppy version, i think it's only the free version with the 4gig limitation. :oops:

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 7:29 pm 

Answers to your questions:

1. Yes, if it's a floppy version it has the 4GB limit. The suite gives you an easy way to make the floppies, but the code on the floppy is the same as what you can download for free.

Floppy only version = free version = 4GB limit.