NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Mon Apr 29, 2024 1:08 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 12:15 am 

Hi all, NASLite newbie here.

I'm thinking about setting up a NASLite+ server, but was wondering how it handles mutiple disks.

For instance, if I have
Hard Disk 1 = 300GB
Hard Disk 2 = 100GB

Will the resulting NASLite+ server appear to my WinXP desktop as a single, 400GB drive (I know it doesn't have RAID 0 capabilities, but how about JBOD?)

Or, will it appear as two separate drives, one 300GB, and the other 100GB?

It would be nice if it was a single 400GB volume. This way, I can just automate my desktop backups to it and maximize/consolidate storage space.

Thanks!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:11 am 

It will appear as 2 separate drives.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 7:54 am 

That's unfortunate ... would have been most desireable to have at least JBOD.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 9:32 am 
Site Admin

Quote:
That's unfortunate ... would have been most desireable to have at least JBOD.

How do you suggest one would move disks between servers if JBOD is implemented? Also, how do you suggest data recovery from the second disk is performed when the first disk fails?

JBOD offers no advantage over RAID-0 and RAID-0 is dangerous without underlying redundancy such as RAID-5

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 11:48 am 

Simple, I don't suggest anything.

NASLite+ lacks RAID0 or RAID5, so I'm not sure why you bring those up.