NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Mon Apr 29, 2024 7:23 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 10:29 pm 

Hello,

Please bear with me ... I am a Linux newbie, but I have a question/request.

I love NASLite + ! It is perfect to serve my media collection at home. A low-end machine with large hard drives and I have a very large file/media server.

Of course, it could be better <grin> - I would also like support for support IDE PCI cards and look forward for some form of RAID support, but in the short term, I have a question/request.

Would it be possible to have support for each drive to be presented to the user as one read only folder ?

I just read about Unionfs which could be just the ticket.

http://www.linuxjournal.com/article/7714
http://www.unionfs.org/
http://www.fsl.cs.sunysb.edu/project-unionfs.html

This would allow NASLite to present one folder, maybe a read only share, that would present the contents of each drive in one "place".

Tony - is this something you guys would consider ?

Is this something I could roll into NASLite + myself ?

TIA

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2006 10:51 pm 

Good evening guys,

Just to reply to my own post and bring the topic back to the surface - I am encouraged to see that we might be getting closer to NAS 2.0 and I have been giving it much thought ... and I thought of another addition to my original suggestion.

What would you guys think if one NAS server, that supported Unionfs, could act as the "master" NAS server and could add shares from other NAS servers as parts of the one Unionfs share it served to the clients.

I know it sounds a little silly, but I am getting close to needing a second server for my HTPC/media server enviroment and it would be great to be able to add more files on a second or even third server that would appear to all clients as one share.