NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:04 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2006 2:57 am 

Hi,

I'll say upfront that I'm a n00b to both linux and NASlite (this is my first time with both), although I've got enough experience in the Windows and PC hardware worlds to build up PCs comfortably.

Some friends and I have been building NASlite+ machines with the intention of using them to store media centre files (for our MCE2005 boxes).

After getting a little Dell Optiplex GX100 to use for NASlite+ and putting a couple of drives in it, it runs great and quiet, however the 2 drives in it each make a 'click' sound roughly every 9 seconds (I'll say 'roughly' because the clicks aren't in sync). It sounds like the heads are giving a little jump.

Does anyone have any idea of what could be causing this? It doesn't do it if the PC is on but NASlite+ isn't running. So I'm trying to determine if NASlite+ is the cause? I don't believe it is related to my network environment since I can pull the network cable out of the NAS PC and the clicking still continues. I thought it might be SMART but even when I disabled this in NASlite+ (and rebooted) the clicking is there. By the way, this is all after the big disk churn for a couple of minutes that occurs when the NASlite+ box boots (which I'm assuming is normal?). The drives were brand new (unformatted) when I installed them into the NASlite+ box.

I'll try and give some system info here that could be relevant, but if other info might be helpful please just let me know.

- NASlite+ v1.5 for USB Flash, booting using floppy kicker diskette, SMART disabled
- Dell GX100 Celeron 700MHz, 256MB RAM, latest BIOS
- drive '1' = Western Digital WD3000JB 300GB, UDMA/66
- drive '3' = Western Digital WD3200JB 320GB, UDMA/66
- Netgear GA311 Gigabit PCI NIC
- Linksys WAG54G router/switch (100Mbps)