NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Mon May 25, 2020 12:48 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 9:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 9:21 pm
Posts: 3
Anyone discover a fix for this? I've scoured the forums, but haven't found anything that works.

My laptop is registered on a domain (work domain) and I can't connect to my NAS Lite+ computer without getting a request for a password.

I stream video and music from my NasLite box, so it is a real pain in the a$$ to have to access the data from Internet Explorer and download it to my laptop so I can use it.

I can access all my other shared resources (running windows on all other home PCs) via my laptop.

Thanks for any help! Does NasLite v2 suffer this same limitation?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 1:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 1:50 pm
Posts: 604
Location: Texas, USA
Set naslite to a different workgroup name than your domain and try again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 7:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 9:21 pm
Posts: 3
No good. It was already set to a different name (workgroups are different than domains anyway), but I tried changing the workgroup name to the same name as the domain my laptop accesses. Still no joy...

Says "administrator" in the user name field and no password seems to work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 7:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 7:22 pm
Posts: 2
Sorry to dig up an old post and im sure youve figured it out by now but i use the following on my work laptop (joined to work domain) and it works well.

"net use N: ipofnasbox /u:NAS-User"

Maps your nas to Drive Letter N: in windows.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2006 8:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:09 am
Posts: 130
After a little more looking around, the correct syntax from the command prompt is

net use N: \\xxxxx\Disk-n /USER:NASUser
where

xxxxx is the servername and
Disk-n is the NASlite Disk share..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 11:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 9:21 pm
Posts: 3
EXCELLENT!!!!

It worked flawlessly! Thanks so much! I have been trying to get this to work forever.

Much appreciation,
Kirt


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group