NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Wed May 27, 2020 11:36 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 3:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 1:24 pm
Posts: 24
I know flakey is a serious technical term, but I can't think of a better one. I'm running NASLite+ on a Pentium 166 w/256 mb of memory. When I use Windows Explorer to look at drive contents the first time (or two) that I touch the Disk-1 directory things are pretty fine; nice and fast open of associated subdirectories. But adding a directory is iffy; sometimes I get the New|Folder option, sometimes I don't. When I do get it it is slow to display and even slower to add the folder.

Renaming a subdirectory is similarly fraught ... sometime it works, sometimes it doesn't. Sometimes it's very slow, sometimes not.

Explorer has also been know to go stupid: forgetting that the Disk-1 (or -2, or -3 or -4) has any subdirectories at all and sometimes, even though there are two disks available, only one will show - for a while - and then makes a mysterious re-entry.

I've turned off power monitoring stuff, etc, per FAQ suggestions.

Maybe the machine is just too under powered for what it needs to do, though my attraction to NASLite+ was that it would allow me to continue to get good use an old and reliable box.

Any guidance that is offered would be very welcome.

Thanks very much.

Bill Cole


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 4:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:05 pm
Posts: 1687
Location: Up State NY in the USA!!!!
Try NL2.x. It should run just fine on the box as well. Alot more feature rich too.

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 5:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 2:18 pm
Posts: 172
Location: North Carolina, USA
wacole, I'm running Naslite+ on a Pentium 200 w/32MB of memory which is similar to your system. I don't experience any of the problems you are reporting.

From your description I would suspect either a network problem or a Windows problem. If you have an ethernet crossover cable, connect your Windows box directly to the NASLite+ box and see if the problems go away.

If not, something in Windows is likely messed up.

You didn't say if you are using a wired or wireless network. With wireless you could be getting lost signal problems with the NASLite box, which would result in the symptoms you describe.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 10:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 1:24 pm
Posts: 24
Thanks much. Am running a wired network. Will try the crossover cable technique - appreciate the guidance.

Bill Cole


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group