NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Sun May 31, 2020 2:11 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 4:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 4:11 pm
Posts: 6
Hello,

I installed Naslite+ for USB flash to a friend and I use kicker floppy disk to boot Naslite+ on the USB flash, all was alright.

After the configuration I put a hard drive disk on my IDE and when I start the computer, kicker floppy disk doesn't want to start Naslite+ on USB flash and I view this on the screen :

Code:
Kernel command line :
root=/dev/ram0 rw
Can't open kernel file

System shutdown complete
Reboot Now


If the hard drive disk is not connected naslite start without problems.

Can you help me ?


Thanks a lot :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 6:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 10:26 am
Posts: 427
in the bios set the HD to none.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 6:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 4:11 pm
Posts: 6
In the bios I've set not to boot on HD.
The computer boot on floppy disk but when the floppy want to start the USB flash there is the error.

Thanks for your answer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 6:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 10:26 am
Posts: 427
You misunderstand me, set the bios to none for the HD.
This is not under the boot options.

post some details of your machine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 4:11 pm
Posts: 6
Ok I set off the HD detection in bios so my computer boot correctly but my HD is not detect.

My machine is a P3 with 128mb and the motherboard is MSI MS6156 V1.0 BX7

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 2:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 10:26 am
Posts: 427
smartdevil,

When you selected none in the bios for your hard disk did naslite boot up?

You see once I had a zip drive in a machine and i got the same error as you, once i set the bios to none for the zip drive my nas booted up.

1. pull out any cards that are not needed i.e sound if you have them.
2. disable as much as you can in the bios.
3.unplug CD Rom drives if you have them.
4 ensure you have the correct master / slave setting for the Hard disk/s


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 2:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 4:11 pm
Posts: 6
On my machine there are only :
-the kicker floppy to boot on USB flash
-usb flash
-a HD


When my HD is connected my kicker floppy doesn't start the USB flash.

I've tried to desactivate all I can on my bios for hd detection but it not resolve my problem.

Quote:
When you selected none in the bios for your hard disk did naslite boot up?


Yes but after in naslite system I don't see my HD


thanks a lot


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group