NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:18 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2015 8:41 pm 

Just a heads up for folks look on this forum for any help. You are not going to get any from the developers. I have tried emails, PMs and have gotten no response.

NASLite 2 is NOT compatiable with Yosemite. The only way I have been able to connect to the server is with NFS which is not an effective way to connect with a Mac. Adobe products do not work well with NFS.

Attempting to use AFP only leads to file errors making copying and moving files impossible.

Working on rebuilding all of my servers with NAS4Free or some other alternatives.

I hate this since I have been using NASLite since 2006 with great success. But I guess Ralph and Tony have moved on to other things.

If you are not using Yosemite on a Mac, you might have success. But I would be cautious due to the lack of support and future development.

Rick

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2015 6:29 pm 
Site Admin

We've been pretty busy working on the next release actually.

I use, and develop NL, over AFP on an iMac and Powerbook, both using 10.10.3 everyday with no issues what so ever.

Reading over what you have said, I would say you have permission issues. Files need to be copied to your NL boxes, thru NL.
You can't copy files from a mounted drive and then expect things to work correctly. *ALL* permissions are read/write and set to NAS-User, this hasn't changed since the inception of NL.

If all files are set to NAS-User, then you more then likely have either have a corrupted filesystem, left over lock files, or defective hardware.

Thanks.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:24 pm