NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Wed Oct 16, 2019 12:19 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2014 4:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2014 3:56 pm
Posts: 2
I have a 2-drive system with Disk-0 mirrored to Disk-1. I upgraded to larger drives by replacing Disk-0 with new drive and setting old drive (Disk-1) to mirror to it. After mirror completed, replaced Disk-1 with new drive and set new Disk-0 to mirror to new Disk-1. Everything seemed to mirror just fine. However . . . when I access either Disk-0 or Disk-1 (which are identical) from a Windows 7 workstation, the directories are all visible, but some cannot be accessed (some can). Error message "You do not have permission to access . . . Contact your network administrator . . . " When I view the HTML listing by entering IP address of NL in IE11, I can access both Disk-0 and Disk-1, but same problem with accessing certain of the directories. The listing: /Disk-0/ shows "NAS-User" in the user and group column for the directories I can access and "admin" for those I can't.

Obviously, I messed up the disk upgrade. How do I fix?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2014 5:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:05 pm
Posts: 1681
Location: Up State NY in the USA!!!!
Is one of the drives also a boot drive or are you booting off of say USB stick or a CF card?

Personally I would have used a live OS to copy and check the data from the old drive to the new one.

Ralph or Tony are better at this than I am. When I get into this kind of stuff I call a friend that is a Cray supercomputer admin and make him do it for me. Far less chance of a loss of data that way... I realize that you likely do not have that available to you and so suggest that you contact them via a PM and wait for them to get back to you.

I suspect that the permissions are wrong or you could have file names that are to long as well. Hard to tell with Windows some times.

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2014 5:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2014 3:56 pm
Posts: 2
booting off USB after I upgraded to v 2.65 (yes I've been using NL awhile). Old boot files still on HD.

Newbie to forum. How do I PM Ralph or Tony?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:05 pm
Posts: 1681
Location: Up State NY in the USA!!!!
Upper right corner, members, first page. Admin, Ralph, Tony...

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group