NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Tue Nov 19, 2019 5:54 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 11:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 12:16 pm
Posts: 31
Howdy, I have a 3ware Escalade 9500S-4LP 4 Port SATA Raid PCI HW card that I'm using to serve up 2 1TB in a Raid-1 Mirror to NASLite. There is also a single 2 TB drive on this controller so 3 out of the 4 ports are being used.

I would like to MOVE away from the RAID controller card and just use the Mobo Onboard SATA controllers and just have 2 drives. Is there anyway to do this WITHOUT NASLite up and running and copying from a RAID Disk to a NON RAID disk?
ie: Can I just unplug the Drive from the RAID controller card and plug it into the MOBO? I have heard that the data is written to the disk in a proprietary format and so it would NOT be readable as a normal SATA drive. Can anyone confirm this?

So, again. I want to move my drives OFF of the SATA Raid controller Card and onto the MOBO's SATA ports and NOT have them be in a RAID enviornment anymore and of course do this WITHOUT loosing data. The 1TB drive is backed up to a External HDD, but the 2TB is NOT and I do not want to loose the data from there.

Thanks again in advance!
Mark


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:35 pm
Posts: 1
Anyone? Thanks.


________________
Please do visit my very own personal blog site site


Last edited by zyrabontia on Mon Oct 08, 2012 9:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 9:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:05 pm
Posts: 1681
Location: Up State NY in the USA!!!!
The 2TB drive is simply an ext3 formatted volume so you should just be able to move it over and have it appear as normal. The mirror drives should be just that, EXT3 volumes with the same data set. Again you should be able to simply move them and they should work on the MB SATA controller. You can simply move them and see what happens. It will not mount the drive if I am wrong and nothing lost but a few minutes.

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group