NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:58 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: RAID Setup Question
PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 1:23 pm 

I started working for a photography company as their IT person, and this is my first time working with NASLite. The version we currently have is (NASLite-2 USB v2.04 02-2007).

We recently purchased 4 x 2TB drives for replacement in our storage server, and I have no idea how to go about replacing, and setting up the proper RAID configuration.

We're looking for a total combined storage space of 4TB. What would be the best RAID configuration for our picture storage server to equal that 4TB?

0+1?
1+0?

And how would I go about setting this up, step-by-step, with NASLite?

Post subject: Re: RAID Setup Question
PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 2:38 pm 

Raid 10 is usually the bast way.

To make this happen you are going to have to have one of the later versions of NL that has support of the newer RAID cards. You must also have a hardware RAID card. This is not to be confused with the likes of RAID on the motherboard, it will not function in any NL distro at present. These are software based solutions and so will not work.

Allot of the 3ware cards are good as are the LSI and some of the Adaptec cards. There are allot of cards supported to be honest, but you must have a hardware based RAID card.

Mike

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 4:13 pm 

mikeiver1 wrote:
Raid 10 is usually the bast way.

To make this happen you are going to have to have one of the later versions of NL that has support of the newer RAID cards. You must also have a hardware RAID card. This is not to be confused with the likes of RAID on the motherboard, it will not function in any NL distro at present. These are software based solutions and so will not work.