NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 1:22 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 3:19 pm 

I've been running NASLite-2 on an Athlon XP 1400 box for several years with rock solid reliability.

About a month or so ago -- and with no changes to the hardware -- I began to get intermittent crashes that would leave the computer dead in the water (no response via any protocol), but still powered up and fans running, with the attached dump on the monitor display (I normally run headless, but I connected a monitor when these crashes started.)

The crashes have been occurring at intervals of a few days, but they don't seem to be connected with any particular activity on the file server. One of them occurred when I am certain there was no activity at all on the server, and I've been unable to trigger a crash by hitting the server with huge simultaneous bi-directional transfers.

When a crash occurs, power cycling and rebooting brings the system back up for another few days, and there has never been a problem when booting.

I've done the following without any improvement; not because I thought they had anything to do with the problem, but because they were quick and easy to do:
- Replaced the Netgear GA311 NIC with another new one (also a GA311).
- Upgraded NASLite-2 from v2.60 to v2.62.

Can anyone make any sense out of the display dump? Does it offer any hints as to where to start looking?

I acknowledge that this is probably a hardware issue of some sort (motherboard, processor, memory). I'm also familiar with PC hardware, so I pretty much know what I'm going to need to do to track down a hardware failure. But I'm not so familiar with Linux, so I thought before I started hardware troubleshooting from scratch I'd see if anyone could make sense out of the display dump.

Thanks,
Jim

Attachments: