NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Mon Jan 24, 2022 1:25 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Installation Problem
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:08 pm
Posts: 3
Well, I just download the iso a few hours ago and I didn't get very far... As soon as the CD boots it uncompresses the Kernel then says, "OK, Booting the Kernel". Then it just sits

I have a
Compaq D220
2.2Ghz Celeron
256MB RAM
and yes, a floppy.

For yuks I booted the disk in an old 550Mhz Pentium Clone with 96MB RAM. I got a very different screen. It loaded drivers and left me at the logon prompt.

Am I missing something???


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 7:30 am
Posts: 14
seeing as no one has paid attention to you i will have a go :) i am a new user too and i installed on many different PC architectures and got the same problem a cpl of times.. i put it down to probably incompatible RAM or it is in the wrong slot.. try some new RAM or try taking some of the RAM out if you have more than one stick.. hope it helps


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 12:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:08 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks for the idea. I only have one stick in this machine, but I'll try moving it.

Anyone else hazzard a guess????


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 1:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 1:50 pm
Posts: 604
Location: Texas, USA
There are lots of things to try before throwing in the towel. I'll start by shutting everything off in the BIOS. Things like COM, LPT, USB2, etc. should be disabled. Also disable ACPI for the preliminary setup as well as anything else you consider unnecessary or optional. Also remove all add on cards for the initial tests.

The goal is to get a complete boot to the login prompt. Once there you can start adding things to the setup until you are where you need to be.

Such problems are usually due to IRQ issues, RAM as Dismember pointed out or, in some isolated cases, ACPI.

When I run into a stubborn setup, that's what I do. Strip it down to the bone, get a prompt and then start adding options and hardware until I get to where I need to go. Works every time. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 11:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:08 pm
Posts: 3
:D Got it loaded! Thanks! for the ideas!! Turns out ACPI was the problem as you suggested. Now to install the RAID card and see what's next.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 3:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 7:30 am
Posts: 14
I hadn't thought of that as i do that anyway :S good call dimension :D


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group