NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Mon Jul 04, 2022 4:20 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 4:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 8:29 pm
Posts: 14
I want to add more drives to my NASLite 2 USB server and I did not want to purchase a PCI IDE or Sata controller card until I know which brand/model work...recommendations please...

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 6:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 3:01 am
Posts: 16
Location: Washington, DC
I have a SIIG SATA 4-channel RAID controller (part number SC-SA4R12-S2) and it works with no problems. It does RAID 0, 1 and 0+1 but I am not using any of those at the moment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 6:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 4:27 am
Posts: 577
Location: Scotland
Don't know if you will ever use RAID0 or RAID1 using this card with NASLite-2. It doesn't seem to be a hardware RAID card - I hope to be proved wrong as the price is extremely attractive.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Thanks!
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 10:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 8:29 pm
Posts: 14
Nic, NickC,

Thanks I will check them out.

BTW I am not interested at this time in RAID, just more HDDs.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 4:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 3:01 am
Posts: 16
Location: Washington, DC
I bought it just for the drive capacity since my NAS is one of 3 copies of my important data so RAID is not a "must have" for me at the moment. It does have a BIOS you enter to setup the RAID configuration. If anyone is interested in whether the RAID will be recognized, I can always give it a shot and then just copy my data back later.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Update
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 2:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 8:29 pm
Posts: 14
I eventually went with the Promise TX4 and it seems to be working. Intentionally am not running RAID. So far I have only (1) SATA Drive (Samsung Spinpoint 500GB) hooked to it and I have written and read files from it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 1:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 1:00 pm
Posts: 6
Nic wrote:
I bought it just for the drive capacity since my NAS is one of 3 copies of my important data so RAID is not a "must have" for me at the moment. It does have a BIOS you enter to setup the RAID configuration. If anyone is interested in whether the RAID will be recognized, I can always give it a shot and then just copy my data back later.


I am interested in this card but I would be using it with 4x500G drives in a RAID config. If you do get a chance to try out the RAID stuff please let me know the results.

Thanks
gl


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group