NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Thu Oct 17, 2019 12:01 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 11:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 12:00 am
Posts: 61
Okay. I will do this and try again.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 5:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 12:00 am
Posts: 61
I just left the machine after the last reboot and then a few days ago I get a IRQ 19. What's interesting is that I haven't had any slowdown in bandwidth. Everything streams nicely. What's also interesting is that I haven't had an IRQ on 16 or 18 for four days now.

This very confusing.

Feb 28 21:00:03 [5] irq 19: nobody cared (try booting with the "irqpoll" option)
Feb 28 21:00:03 [4] Pid: 1377, comm: grep Not tainted 2.6.36.4.CORE3 #1
Feb 28 21:00:03 [4] Call Trace:
Feb 28 21:00:03 [4] [] ? __report_bad_irq+0x30/0x7d
Feb 28 21:00:03 [4] [] ? note_interrupt+0x105/0x151
Feb 28 21:00:03 [4] [] ? handle_fasteoi_irq+0x95/0xb5
Feb 28 21:00:03 [4] [] ? handle_irq+0x17/0x20
Feb 28 21:00:03 [4] [] ? do_IRQ+0x57/0xbd
Feb 28 21:00:03 [4] [] ? ret_from_intr+0x0/0xa
Feb 28 21:00:03 [4]
Feb 28 21:00:03 [5] handlers:
Feb 28 21:00:03 [5] [] (mv_interrupt+0x0/0x71f [sata_mv])
Feb 28 21:00:03 [5] [] (ata_bmdma_interrupt+0x0/0x17a [libata])
Feb 28 21:00:03 [8] Disabling IRQ #19


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 9:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 12:00 am
Posts: 61
Nope. Not a bad up-time though! 5 days! I will now shut off any unused SATA ports as suggested, reboot and try that.

Mar 4 11:35:23 [5] irq 16: nobody cared (try booting with the "irqpoll" option)
Mar 4 11:35:23 [4] Pid: 0, comm: swapper Not tainted 2.6.36.4.CORE3 #1
Mar 4 11:35:23 [4] Call Trace:
Mar 4 11:35:23 [4] [] ? __report_bad_irq+0x30/0x7d
Mar 4 11:35:23 [4] [] ? note_interrupt+0x105/0x151
Mar 4 11:35:23 [4] [] ? handle_fasteoi_irq+0x95/0xb5
Mar 4 11:35:23 [4] [] ? handle_irq+0x17/0x20
Mar 4 11:35:23 [4] [] ? do_IRQ+0x57/0xbd
Mar 4 11:35:23 [4] [] ? ret_from_intr+0x0/0xa
Mar 4 11:35:23 [4] [] ? acpi_idle_enter_bm+0x231/0x266 [processor]
Mar 4 11:35:23 [4] [] ? acpi_idle_enter_bm+0x22c/0x266 [processor]
Mar 4 11:35:23 [4] [] ? pm_qos_request+0x58/0x5c
Mar 4 11:35:23 [4] [] ? cpuidle_idle_call+0x96/0xcd
Mar 4 11:35:23 [4] [] ? cpu_idle+0x49/0x60
Mar 4 11:35:23 [4] [] ? start_kernel+0x32a/0x336
Mar 4 11:35:23 [4] [] ? x86_64_start_kernel+0xed/0xf1
Mar 4 11:35:23 [5] handlers:
Mar 4 11:35:23 [5] [] (usb_hcd_irq+0x0/0x5f [usbcore])
Mar 4 11:35:23 [5] [] (mv_interrupt+0x0/0x71f [sata_mv])
Mar 4 11:35:23 [5] [] (rtl8169_interrupt+0x0/0x261 [r8169])
Mar 4 11:35:23 [8] Disabling IRQ #16


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 10:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 12:00 am
Posts: 61
Nope. Can't disable any SATA ports in Bios.

My only solution now it seems;

1. Swap back to 12 year old 10/100 mobo & buy another 4 port SATA PCI card and a possible Gigabit NIC
2. Buy a new mobo and hope that I don't have the same problems.
3. Continue to reboot the existing system every 12 to 24 hours to eliminate IRQ's.

...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 3:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 12:00 am
Posts: 61
Last update;

I just want you to know that my wife has been giving me a really hard time about NASLite being down all the time. She is watching Game of Thrones at the moment and every time the server is down I have to listen to her berate me. She says, 'How long before I can watch it.', I reply, 'It depends, it could be 2 minutes or it could be 2 hours.' I have had this conversation so many times and we are both very frustrated.

NASLite is ruining my marriage.

Goodbye.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 2:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:05 pm
Posts: 1681
Location: Up State NY in the USA!!!!
First off, if you think that the guys are going to be able to support every piece of hardware out there then you are in for a bad time. The reality is that NASLite is designed for use of older hardware and not the latest and greatest release of processor/chipset on offer. To be frank and honest it is a total waste of hardware. An old 1GHz Celeron with a simple PCI NIC will saturate a 1Gb network link. My NAS was an old 2GHz Celeron with 1GB of RAM and a simple Intel gigabit NIC. It was rock solid and fast. To get the latest and greatest hardware supported you will likely have to roll your own.

Sorry you are having trouble...

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 2:34 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 4:01 pm
Posts: 798
Location: ServerElements
Actually NL supports pretty much everything out there, the latest release improved the hardware support including USB3.

The thing that concerns me is the fact he can't turn off the onboard SATA ports not in use, that are using up IRQs. Sounds like a crap board if you can't turn them off.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2014 7:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 12:00 am
Posts: 61
Ralph wrote:
Actually NL supports pretty much everything out there


but wait...
Ralph wrote:
Sounds like a crap board if you can't turn them off.


So I must have the not so pretty much everything motherboard...

Well, totally over NASlite as a solution to my storage needs. Still having IRQ errors. After fresh reboot I get a IRQ 16 and bandwidth is limited; streaming videos lag every 5 seconds. NASlite hasn't really worked out for me and I'm a bit disappointed that I took up the suggestion to upgrade again 3 months after I had already upgraded, on the basis that it would fix the problems I was having, which it didn't.

Looking around for a new solution now.

Cheers, Mark.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 4:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:28 pm
Posts: 7
Is your network card onboard?,I had same issue even with multiple cards and reloads.
Got rid of PCI cards and only stuck to Pci Expresss X1 or your X16 slot if the video card is built in.
Been running great for 16 days so far and 10tb transferred.
Also turn off all com ports,printer ports,sound cards.
I got this sata card to work Intel gigabit pci express x1 $30.00 , and 2 port pci express X1 sata star tech
Part number: PEXSAT32 $34.00

Hope this helps


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 4:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 12:00 am
Posts: 61
Yeah. Been there done all that. Thanks for your comment though.

I've been looking at unRAID as a new NAS software solution. Looks promising. The prospect of possibly transferring 24TB of data through a 10/100 network is a bit daunting but worth it if it actually works. Upgrading my switch is another project :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 5:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:05 pm
Posts: 1681
Location: Up State NY in the USA!!!!
You can simply plug one computer into the other and transfer that way. The NIC will do the crossover for you, no cable Xover cable needed.

The above assumes a console and command line in one or the other. Depending on the OS used in it you may be able to migrate the drives to the unraid server and then transfer the data over that way to a fresh drive. It is a daunting task to say the least. Don't know that I really like the solution for data integrity, if the data drive fails you are lost it would seem.

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 6:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 12:00 am
Posts: 61
Nah, I have another new motherboard lying around somewhere so I'll install the OS and copy one drive over at a time. I have heaps of redundant copies so I'm not worried about losing data.

I like the command option though, saves having to run the data over the network.

Thanks for the tip!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2014 8:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 12:00 am
Posts: 61
Interesting update;

I installed FreeNAS but discovered the software didn't support my 2x Highpoint Raid cards.
Decided to go back to NASLite.
In my try anything desperation to fix IRQ errors, I updated the firmware on the Raid cards anyway and the update rendered both cards useless (I should have only updated one first) (Weird 'OUT OF MEMORY' error before BIOS boot up then the computer freezes)
Removed both Highpoint Raid cards
Plugged the NASLite USB boot stick back in and booted.
Lo and behold I got an IRQ error within 12 hours!

Obviously the motherboard is incompatible with NASLite. It's a shame I had to kill two raid cards to discover that though as I could have bought a stand alone Networked 4 port NAS for the price of those cards. What sucks the most out of this was I only bought the 2 Raid cards to upgrade my NASLite capacity.

Now without function NAS and back to square one. Ah the joy of computing...

At least all that time fussing around with trying to fix the IRQ errors can now be used toward finding a working solution.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 8:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 12:00 am
Posts: 61
Hey,

I've just dug up an old Intel P3 motherboard with 4 sticks of 256 RAM and I want to test it with the NASLite software, while keeping the other NASLite functional so I can transfer data if it does work.

Can I use the same software/licence or do I need to purchase another licence?

This is kind of urgent request. I just want an operational NAS.

Mark.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 8:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:05 pm
Posts: 1681
Location: Up State NY in the USA!!!!
I don't think the guys really have an issue with that for testing or transfers. If you are running two and only have one license then it is good and right to buy a second.

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group