NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 8:05 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Services
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:30 am 

Hello, I am new to the whole NAS thing, but I have NL and have 8 1tb Western Digital Caviar Black HDDs set up in a raid 5 configuration. I am trying to transfer files around 9GB in size, and it is taking about an hour. I am using Windows 7 on the source computer and have the NAS and Windows 7 machine running through a linksys wrt54g router. I am also using the FTP service to transfer, is there a faster way to transfer those files. I also do a lot of video editing and will be regularly transferring files those size.

Post subject: Re: Services
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:50 am 

fastest transfer is via gigabit rated equipment - the router you specify is 10/100 so thats the first bottle neck - its also wireless G - so if you are using that then thats also slow

if you dont want to upgrade the network then you are not going to improve much

one other way is to transfer the files via a linux box - format the Naslite drives in Naslite and then move them to a linux box and do the transfer all within that box - you are then bypassing the network so it will be much quicker - have done it on single drives - not sure if it would work with raid - you also need to play with file permissions once the transfer is complete

however that would not help the transfer of files in the future - so going full circle - a solid wired gigabit system has to be the answer

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:07 am 

Okay thats what I figured and upgrading is definiteley an option, I am trying a direct connect right now, but only getting 100, all but the router is 1000, switching the cable next to see if that helps.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 3:31 pm