NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Mon Sep 25, 2017 1:56 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 1:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 2:00 pm
Posts: 78
Hello forum
I been scratching my head for two days now not being able to connect to NASLite-M2. I am not able to ping or scan the machine.
Everything starts up fine with no errors, NASLite-M2 installed on USB driver and two hard drives installed. Network has two computers + NASLite connected to a Netgear Gigabit Switch GS108E, computers are all on the same IP-adress family 192.168.X.X (including NASLIte). I can ping to each machine but not to the NASLite, all connections show green light with no signs of error. On the NASLite PC I have tried the onboard Realtek ethernet (shows green when connected) also disabled and used Intel ethernet card instead. Every setup I tried shows green but to ping to the NASLite is not possible "100.0% packet loss" As I can ping between the two computers I don't see there should be a problem with the switch. The switch looks happy with green lights all over it.

I have tried to change the IP-adress on all but nothing, computers are fine but NAS not "pingable" I can not connect to it and I feel now that I have run out of all options in my "toolbox". Is there anyone in the forum that have any clue to why or can give me some help to solve this very strange issue. Having a NAS that you can not reach is very frustrating specially when you can't find any errors...

Thanks for any advice on this issue
Regards
Soren


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 11:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:05 pm
Posts: 1676
Location: Up State NY in the USA!!!!
Try totally resetting the config file to default and then changing the settings to the network address you want. Also, go into the BIOS and reset it to default, then kill all devices but the on board NIC and give it a go again.

I had a 1Gig fibre NIC that failed on my and though it showed green lights it was still failed. Also, the Intel NICs can be a bit problematic, try just a cheap Realtec NIC instead. The on board NIC may have in fact failed and NASLite may not be rendering the Intel NIC drivers properly.

Finally, if the above fails send Tony and Ralph each a PM and they may be able to help you more on this.

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 2:00 pm
Posts: 78
Thanks Mike,

Is there a "how to" to reset the config file? I think I have seen it on this forum by removing setting files, have not done a search yet... or you mean using "tools and utilities" in admin mode using "D" ?
Yes I was thinking of doing a reset to default in BIOS but as all things shows green and no error messages in startup when reading the lines in NASLite. I did remove the Intel NIC and disable the Realtec NIC in BIOS, then NASLite did not start up (it did react on changes) and then reinserted the Intel NIC and still same problem. I will reset BIOS and reset to default settings in Admin mode and se what is happening...

//Soren


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group