NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Mon Dec 06, 2021 5:52 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 12:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 4:29 am
Posts: 11
Hi everyone,

that' s my last question before i give it up to use Naslite.

Some problems with the free Naslite version :

I try it on 3 different configurations

an old pentium 200mmx, 128MB Ram, 100Mbit Realtek based NIC also a 3COM NIC with one Harddrive

an AMD K2- 350, 64MB Ram same NIC and Harddrive

and number 3 An AMD 1300Mhz, 1GB Ram, NIC on board one Harddrive

Problems are:

reboot sometimes, during filetransfer ?!

get the message on my Pc during filetransfer : network path no longer avaible ( Naslite still running ) no ping, telnet ecetera ?!

make a small datatransfer, shutdown via telnet , reboot and than
give my the message : disk can' t be mount or something,
try to let Naslite repears by himself, shutdown the server after 48 hours
without a result?!

Of course i change the network cables and use also a new switch.

I think it' s really a good piece of software but if i have so big problems with the free version what can i expect if i buy Naslite+ ??

Sincerly Jay


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 2:53 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 4:11 pm
Posts: 1771
Location: Server Elements
The problem you are describing is definately hardware related and not a problem with NASLite. If your PC reboots mid-transfer or the NIC goes quiet then the problems are most likely caused by IRQ conflicts. Most BIOS will have an option to disable PnP and allow the BIOS to allocate the IRQs to the available devices. Try that. Also, disable all that is not necessary as well as all BIOS controled power management.

The fact that you are experiencing problems on all 3 machines presents some very unlikely odds, but looking at the big picture, there are a lot of copies of NASLite running trouble-free on a lot of computers, so I'd say you are probably overlooking something in setup or are using a faulty hardware in all 3 counts. Take a look at the RAM and power supply also. Both of those can cause some nasty problems that may prove dificult to track.

Hope that helps.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 3:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 4:29 am
Posts: 11
Hi Tony, thanks for reply

I check the Bios settings on the 3 configurations.

Maybe the p200 mmx is too old or faulty but the 2 other machine still running with Windows 98, Windows XP SP2 and Ubuntu.

Memmtest,... etcetera. Nothing wrong

Now i' m testing a complety new configuration ( new hardware ).
I know there are a lot of copies running over the world, i only need to take a lock in the forum.I also test other software, like freenas, eisfair, .....
When i find your homepage, i was happy to find a simple and easy to use Nas-solution and i hope i find the solution to run it faultless.

Sincerly Jay


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 4:29 am
Posts: 11
Hi Tony,

back online after a bad carcrash :( :(.

Well i tested Naslite on 2 new configuration with new hardware.
I got the same problems like before ?!

Also i tried on two other networks, same results.

The only thing that doesn' t change on all the different configuration was the hardisk.
Is it possible that it' s the problem ?

model Maxtor 250 GB PATA 133 6L250R0

Sincerly Jay


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: 200MMX
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 8:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 5:12 pm
Posts: 37
Jay,

I'm running Nas+ (booting from CD and floppy) on an old PB 200MMX, no worries.

Flawed mem could be the problem.

Good luck!

Kevlaur


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 12:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 4:29 am
Posts: 11
Hi Kevlaur,

i don' t think it' s a memory problem.
Because i tested old and new hardware, every time the same problem.

Jay


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 7:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 10:15 am
Posts: 52
I had this same problem, the memory would pass the memtest no matter how long I put it on test for, either al the sticks or as individuals...


The only way I got around it, was to rip out the non-ecc memory, and put in ECC memory, if your board can take it...

My took both, so I bought some brand new branded memory (ECC) and put that it, and its cured my random reboot problems, (normally would reboot when writing or reading from the hard disk) due to the caching of the files from disk to ram.

And touch wood, my old kit now runs nice and smooth with no problems...

So I would recheck the memory, and if you can replace it with brand new, and branded hiquality memory, and see if that cures the problem... All it takes is one bad 'bit' to switch from 0 to 1 or 1 to 0 and it causes problems with NASLite it seems, it will pass the memtest testing and work under windows, but I have found that *nix based OSs hate any 'slight' ram problems, due to the way they cache the memory.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 2:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 4:29 am
Posts: 11
Hi Sanjiyan,

i try it with one ECC-memory, it runs fine.

Than i start a transfer 0f 5gb of small files and got the same problem again, network path no longer avaible ( Naslite still running ) no ping, telnet ecetera but this time i get also an error message on the Nas :

[CNETDEV WATCHDOG: eth0: transmit timed out
eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1

Any idea, what's that ?

also when i reboot the Nas , found the partition but can' t mount it.

thanks Jay


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group