NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Mon Dec 06, 2021 6:46 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 10:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 5:12 pm
Posts: 37
Howdy all,

I just installed my new 300g hdd and I configured it
with the NASlite, saved the configuration, and then
re-booted.

However, when I view with http from my desktop, it states:

Disk-3 Initialization Messages

1. Checking for Disk-3
2. Found Disk-3 partition
3. Attempting to fix Disk-3 filesystem
4. Disk-3 filesystem is not mountable

Disk-3 Hardware

* ST3300831A, ATA DISK drive
* attached ide-disk driver.
* host protected area => 1
* setmax_ext LBA 586072368, native 583450928
* 583450928 sectors (298727 MB) w/8192KiB Cache, CHS=36318/255/63

NOTE: Disk-3 is installed and can be configured for use with NASLite-SMB

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.
Kevlaur


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 10:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 2:18 pm
Posts: 172
Location: North Carolina, USA
The "attempting to fix Disk-3 filesystem" message says your filesystem has been corrupted. Most likely cause is turning off power without doing a shut down. Although if you did the reboot option it should have done a shut down first.

Also could be a BIOS interaction issue. Make sure disk 3 is set to not installed or none in your BIOS. If the BIOS reports a smaller drive than what is there it may confuse NASLite.

NASLite is attempting to fix any problems it found. It could take half an hour or so for it to scan the filesystem and correct problems. Then Disk 3 will show up as configured again. If you get a message something like e2kfs check failed in the logs it means NASLite couldn't fix the problem and you need to configure (format) the disk again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 4:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 5:12 pm
Posts: 37
Thanks for the response.

Turns out, the new disk didn't like being on the
same channel as either the old hdd or the cd drive.
I can't believe I forgot about that. That kind
of 'touchiness' is especially true in older systems.

Now... to test Genie back up software to see if
it meets my needs....


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group