NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Sun Nov 28, 2021 9:26 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2006 8:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 8:15 pm
Posts: 3
Installed Naslite-SMB

The NAS sits on a mixed media network, but is wired through a switch to the router. Only LAN users are wireless. i also run an Xp server on the LAN, using IIS on port 80. I cannot get solid copying of files from existing PC's on the network to the NAS.

A large file will bottle out, and some small files, e.g. mp3, refuse to copy over, even though I can shunt these around the network quite happily under Windows. I have only tried Windows Explorer as the transport method so far.

Code:
Windows gives me the message:

"Cannot copy xxx: the specified network name is no longer available"


Code:
The screen on the NAS gives this message:

lease broken - owner pid = XXX  (is a number)


You have other users with a similar problems, who were never really answered

http://www.serverelements.com/phpBB2/vi ... php?p=2756
http://www.serverelements.com/phpBB2/vi ... 0da8b9015e

Seems like the network gives up on big files, and that the Linux file system can't cope with some files, big or small. Now is this a network problem or a NASlite-SMB problem or a NAS hardware problem? Unless I can fix it, I'll have to look elsewhere for a NAs solution, which is a shame. :(

Pc unit was performing quite happily as an XP box on the network until I wiped it to put NASlite on. :cry:

Come on Tony or Ralph........... :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2006 9:15 pm 
joe90,

have a little read though this.
http://serverelements.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1417

also remember there is a 4GB file limit on naslite floppy.

eden


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2006 9:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 8:15 pm
Posts: 3
OK I'll have a fiddle about with Nic's and cables, and report back. It's a brand new NIC (but nothing special!) and a trusted cable at present. Thanks edeng


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2006 7:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 8:15 pm
Posts: 3
Yeah! Problem Solved.

Tried a few different cables first as some of my Cat5 will only work at half duplex when it feels like it. This had no change. So swapped out my cheapo LAN card, a Sweex LA000040 LAN PCI card (10/100) for a Dlink DFE 530TX NIC, and hey presto, all big files copy, all little files copy, even the ones that refused before, and the connection is much faster. Looked like NASlite was setting the SWEEX at half duplex, even with a good working cable.

So the DLink DFE530TX definitely works with NASLite-SMB, well for me anyway.

Am a happy bunny now, and can go away and play :) Thanks to Eden for the pointer, who showed me the one post on this forum I didn't read to get to the answer!

HTHO
:D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2006 9:23 am 
Joe90,

Thats great! very often its hardware related. and I am happy you are up and running. just a note the + version has no 4GB limit and has faster network access. glad you ar eup and running.

Eden


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group