NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Mon Dec 06, 2021 7:03 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2005 1:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 12:39 pm
Posts: 4
I am considering NAS lite. I am wondering if I use it on a PC with four drives in it if I can make it show on the network as one combined drive.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 8:02 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 4:11 pm
Posts: 1771
Location: Server Elements
Drives will be automatically be made available as Disk-1 through Disk-4. A single SMB mount point called Disks is also available as read-only.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 8:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 12:39 pm
Posts: 4
Tony wrote:
Drives will be automatically be made available as Disk-1 through Disk-4. A single SMB mount point called Disks is also available as read-only.


Tony:

Thanks for the reply. I am ignorant regarding the terminology. Are you saying that it they can be combined to show on the network as a drive called disks? The read only part is not a problem. The reason I care about this is I want to be able to map one single drive to my media player rather than having four to navigate through.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 8:40 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 4:11 pm
Posts: 1771
Location: Server Elements
When you browse the NASlite shares in Windows, you will notice that there is a share called Disks rather than Disk-X. That share allows for a single mount point to all drives.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 4:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 4:32 pm
Posts: 1
I was lurking to see if my question could get answered and it partially was here as I want to make four physical drives look lke one logical drive under XP but it looks like it will only be read only from your previous comments. How would I go about making a collection of logical drives read/write?

If i wanted to add some redundancy and say go Raid-5 would it be just a matter of installing a raid controller? Does the site have a list of supported raid controller cards?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group