NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Mon Sep 23, 2019 12:53 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: NasLite-SMB to Dreambox
PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2005 5:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 5:10 pm
Posts: 7
I made a NASLite-SMB disk and i works like a dream wiht windows! :)

But I also have a dreambox (linux sat reciver), it talks CIFS and I had it running wiht Samba on debian (for accessing mp3's, recording and so on). And also wiht XP, No problem at all.

But my NASLite-smb dont work wiht it. Is there some older SMB in NAS? or what can be my problem?


In case it helps:
I have a dreambox 7000s (think it is based on busybox) wiht latest software 1,09 and the plugin for cifs is just called CIFS....

/Dick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 4:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 8:30 am
Posts: 23
Hallo Dick,

I'm using NAS-Lite with NFS. It works fine with the Dreambox.

schmicki


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 4:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 5:10 pm
Posts: 7
Hmm, interesting...

I tryed that, don't remember the details now, but as I remember there wasent so many ways to do it.... What can I have done wrong?

This is from my mount.conf:

ip_12=192.168.0.23
fstype_12=1
localdir_12=/mnt/nfs
mountdir_12=Disk-3
username_12=
password_12=
options_12=rw
ownoptions_12=nolock,rsize=8192,wsize=8192
description_12=
automount_12=0
rsize_12=0
wsize_12=0

Is mountdir "Disk-3" ? or "exports/Disk-3" ?

mounted it from telnet once, but only once


If I get it to work, How do I get NASLite to talk to windows then (xp+w98) ? I can run samba from dreambox, but that sounds lite the wrong way...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 5:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 8:30 am
Posts: 23
I'm using "export/Disk-1" (export not exports)
Remember that you can not use NFS-Server and SMB-Server in the same time with NASLite. With NASLite+ all provided Server runs and the same time.
I'm using NASLite+, with windows I can use SMB and with the Dreambox NFS at the same time.
In the Dreambox you can configure und store the NFS-Connection with the GUI, you don't need Telnet.

Hope that helps
schmicki


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 4:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 5:10 pm
Posts: 7
hmm, sounds like it would be well spent money :)

But I dont get my dreambox to talk nfs :oops:

I put in the right ip, export/Disk-3 and /mnt/nfs

but no success.
NFS "mount 192.168.0.27/export/Disk-3 /mnt/nfs" FAILED!

Like i said the SMB talked to XP on first try, so I think that the networkcard, router and so on is ok. Dreambox talks to XP also and linux samba on my NASLite PC. All on DB is umonuted before I tried, so there should be no confilct. NasLite pc is "saved" and restarted.

Any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 4:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 8:30 am
Posts: 23
Works the connection between WinPC and Dreambox, for example FTP-Download ?

Network settings OK? (IP. Netmask...)

Exists the directory root/mnt/nfs on your Dreambox?
If not create it.

schmicki


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 5:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 5:10 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks for the help :D
I am affraid that I have to answer yes on all questions :)

I run cifs againt winPC and ftp, telnet and so on, all works greate
IP is checked, dreambox is 192.168.0.24, Nas server is 192.168.0.27 netmask on whole network is the same.
Directory exists, also tested to mount cifs to it just in case, but no problem. of course unmounted efter test.

I also have a router, wounder if that can mess it up. dont know how, but if I log in a windows pc I see what ip it gets, but not wiht linux. but i put it to a fixed ip, same as on nas server.

I tryed another linux (Ubuntu) wiht samba on the pc (same pc as NasLite), mount cifs went well. But I think that is to much stuff around to mess it up for me, I only need NASLite And the pc is kind of old.. Keep it simple.... :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 4:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 8:30 am
Posts: 23
CIFS for Dreambox is new, and don't use because NFS works...

One Question about mounting NFS.
Do you use a NASLite with NFS-Server?
SMB and NFS works not at the same time.

If it is so, I don't know what's the matter it doesn't work with your NFS.

schmicki


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 5:10 pm
Posts: 7
yepp, naslite-nfs.

I could try another image on DB.... :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 8:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 5:10 pm
Posts: 7
Well tried again wiht peterpan and gemini 2.0, no luck.

I have a D-link 604 router, is it anything in that I have to fix? (same pc works to dreambox wiht debian linux so I dont see a problem...)

Settings in NASLite-NFS:
ip 192.168.0.27 / 255.255.255.0
disk-1 is on it.

On Dreambox:
ip 192.168.0.24 / 255.255.255.0

settings in mounts:
192.168.0.27 NFS
export/Disk-1




I also tried NASLite-SMB
same ip
workgoupe Myworkg
Disk-1

It talks to my XP PC.

On DB
settings in mount:
192.168.0.27 CIFS
Dir:Disk-1

Tried wiht and wihtout username / passw

As far as I can see there is nothing wrong! :?:

Is it some other version of samba in NASLite then it is in for example Debian (dreambox talks samba wiht debian)?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 5:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 8:30 am
Posts: 23
I'm only using DM 1.09 Beta 1, no other image, no DreamFlash.

I've configured my NFS in the Gui. This use options in the mount-command. See under "Extra" in the screen-explaining.
But I don't know what these options do.
Perhaps it helps?

To use it.
Menü
Einstellungen (Options ?) I'm using a german Gui - Options maybe is the right translation
Expert
Kommunikation
Here use the blue button "Freigaben"

In the Next screen:
IP: 192.168.0.27
Select NFS
Dir: export/Disk-1
Local Dir: /mnt/nfs
Options: ro or rw
Extra: nolock, rsize=8192, wsize=8192
Mount

with this settings it works perfekt.

Because the NFS works with my DB I don't have testet CIFS/SMB.
I don't know if the CIFS works with orig. DM image.

schmicki


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 3:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 5:10 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks!

But that is exatly what I have done :(

Stupid stupid dreambox! :) I think that I give up now.... But thanks anyway!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:02 am
Posts: 1
Had a look at your mount command
mount 192.168.0.27/export/Disk-3 /mnt/nfs

It should be

mount 192.168.0.27:/export/Disk-3 -t nfs /mnt/nfs


Notice the colon mount <Server_ip>:/export/Disk-# /mnt/<blah>
Oh and the need to tell linux the file system !!


Hope this works if it has not already been fixed !!
Later


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Dream
PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2006 1:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 1:52 pm
Posts: 2
hi all

Windows seems everything OK
i have some problems with my dreambox and nfs mount
dream-gemini 2.7
i use naslite+ cd edition,installed on intel 400MHz ,SDRAM 128MB , 3GB HDD ( its just for test :)
CIFS wont work so I try NFS using command

~ > mount 192.168.1.200:/export/disk-1/media -t nfs /mnt/nfs
mount: 192.168.1.200:/export/disk-1/media failed, reason given by server: Permis
sion denied
mount: nfsmount failed: Bad file descriptor
mount: Mounting 192.168.1.200:/export/disk-1/media on /mnt/nfs failed: Invalid a
rgument

so if anybody ???

br


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2006 8:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 2:18 pm
Posts: 172
Location: North Carolina, USA
pisko,

Try using Disk-1 instead of disk-1 in your mount command.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group