NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:43 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 9:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 7:01 pm
Posts: 1
Could someone please direct me to some info.
I have a Naslite v1.x server with 4, 500 gig storage drives. I set up Devil-Linux v1.4 on a somewhat older box. I am connected to it on my home network. Installed on the Devil-Linux box, are 2 network cards. eth0 is connected to my internet (2wire is the brand name) box, and allows for network security, i.e. firewall. The eth1, I have connected to the Naslite box. I have tried for about 2 weeks to get the settings so that I can access my Naslite box through the Devil-Linux box. it looks like this <<<<<< From DSL Modem (2Wire Model name)then to >>>>>>>
>>>>Devil-Linux Box eth0
<<<<<<Then from Devil Linux Box eth1 >>> To NASLite Box eth0
I can connect to each of them idependantly through my DSL router. But haven't been able to connect to the NASLite if it is plugged into the Devil-Linux box as discribed above.

Now comes my question. Is it possible to put Naslite behind this Devil-Linux box at all? I believe it may be some kind of routing problem, but I do think it is possible. As a last (kinda) resort, I am posting for some guidance. I have search many forums, and documents, such as http://www.aboutdebian.com/network.htm I am missing something. This is just something I am messing around with, but I will not let it kick my butt. So any guide to links or suggestions would be VERY appreciated.

This type of setup could come in handy for some and I will post here, and all the other forums I have looked at for help, the instructions and solutions to help them make their own. What am I using it for you may ask? Well a small school where I volunteer as a noon aid twice a week, was looking for a way to have a network at a low cost, so I said I would try to help. And the reason I don't just use Devil-Linux as the only server is that they want 2 separate networks if possible, and this was the cheapest solution I have found so far. I am not getting paid for this, using some of their old equipment, and they have very little money.

Thank You for your time

Patrick in Michigan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:33 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 4:11 pm
Posts: 1771
Location: Server Elements
What exactly is your goal?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group