NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Mon Dec 06, 2021 7:22 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Help! after crash
PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 1:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 10:08 pm
Posts: 11
I have been using Naslite 1.x for 1.5 years. Everything was setup and has been running fine without glitch for 1.5 years.

Yesterday, the main power was shut off.

Now when the system has come back up, Disk-1 and Disk-2 mount fine, but Disk-4 wont mount:
__alloc_pages: 0-order allocation failed (gfp=0x1d0/0)

VM: killing process e2fsck
Disk-4 - Filesystem is not mountable

I know nothing about Linux.

1. What does this mean?!
2. Please dont tell me I lost all my data. If the disk cant be mounted again, is there a way I can at least get the data of the drive before having to reformat it?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 10:26 am
Posts: 428
Location: UK
Hi Read this.

get yourself knoppix and run the e2fsk command on the screwed up hard drive e2fsk /dev/hda1 depending if its that HD

http://www.serverelements.com/phpBB2/vi ... 406575042a

info on e2fsck
http://linux.about.com/od/commands/l/blcmdl8_e2fsck.htm

Recovery tool.
http://www.data-recovery-software.net/L ... very.shtml

windows tool to allow you to view the HD from your nas box
http://www.fs-driver.org/index.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 8:23 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 4:11 pm
Posts: 1771
Location: Server Elements
It is possible that you don't have enough RAM to execute the filesystem check at boot time. On large drives that can often be the case when running lean on RAM.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 10:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 10:08 pm
Posts: 11
But this was working fine for nearly 2 years and then after the power out something screws up?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:05 pm
Posts: 1687
Location: Up State NY in the USA!!!!
Sh!t happens. I have had a dozen or more of them with no trouble at all. IF you have enough memory and give the box time it should come up with no needed interaction after a few hours of file checking and repair.

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 9:32 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 4:11 pm
Posts: 1771
Location: Server Elements
bigdaddyo811 wrote:
But this was working fine for nearly 2 years and then after the power out something screws up?


I would guess that at this point you have more content on your 500G drive than at any other time in the past. The number of files on the drive has a proportional impact on the RAM necessary to complete a filesystem check. I would think that 128M should resolve the problem and allow you to operate without a problem for another couple of years. :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 5:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 5:05 am
Posts: 7
I am suspecting that the 64mb of ram I have is insufficient for checking my two 320gb disks. It has been working fine for a couple of months, but my NAS started acting up last night. Yesterday it failed to check disk-0 and today it was unable to check disk-1 :/

Too bad that my NAS did not have patience to wait for the two brand new 128mb sticks. Sure hope that those will do the trick :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 8:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 5:05 am
Posts: 7
Ahh, Christmas is saved :)
The memory sticks arrived a couple of hours after i posted, and now my NAS was able to check both my disks and my NAS is back up and running.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 1:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 11:22 am
Posts: 144
Perhaps the system requirements on the product pages should/could be revised to offer a guide as to how much RAM is required to support how much disk space.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 10:35 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 4:11 pm
Posts: 1771
Location: Server Elements
It is very difficult to say. For example, if one has a 500G drive that holds 50 very large files (backup sets perhaps), then 64M will likely be sufficient. On the other hand if there are 600,000 small files stored on the drive, 128M will likely not be enough.

During filesystem check, an index of the filesystem content is created in RAM. The size of that index can vary substantially based on the content.

The basic system requirements are just that - basic. I think that the 64M as stated is more than capable of accommodating a basic setup. On page 4 of the NASLite-2 manual it is stated that if 250G or larger drives are used, 128M of RAM or more may be necessary.

As a general rule, more RAM is good. I think that for most installations 256M is a sweet spot while over 512 is overkill. For older hardware, vintage RAM can be of premium. In such cases use what you have and upgrade only if you see necessary.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: More ram installed
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 4:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 10:08 pm
Posts: 11
I installed more RAM now with a total of 512MB and same. Disk-4 is "unsuccessful".

I can mount it under Linux and have managed to copy some of the files off that were essential, but there is still lots on the 500g i need.

Any other thoughts?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 4:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 10:26 am
Posts: 428
Location: UK
Hi,

You thought about using this tool ?
windows tool to allow you to view the HD from your nas box
http://www.fs-driver.org/index.html

then copy the files over.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group