NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Mon Dec 06, 2021 6:44 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 12:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 5:45 am
Posts: 11
Hi,

I've got a problem with my NAS.
I installed a third 300 GB Disk (Secondery Master ). bujt now i can't configure it.
NAS detects the drive without any problems as DEVICE

Nov 9 17:57:44 SERVER user.info klogd: /dev/ide/host0/bus1/target0/lun0: unknown partition table

and on the webfrontend i can see the disk information


Disk-3 Initialization Messages

1. Checking for Disk-3
2. Disk-3 is not available

Disk-3 Hardware

* Maxtor 5A300J0, ATA DISK drive
* attached ide-disk driver.
* host protected area => 1
* 585940320 sectors (300001 MB) w/2048KiB Cache, CHS=36473/255/63, UDMA(33)

NOTE: Disk-3 is installed and can be configured for use with NASLite-SMBG.


But now i cant format the Disk ....

4 - Configure Storage Disks
Disk Number: [1-4, blank for none] > 3
umount: /export/Disk-3: No such file or directory

what is the problem ?

the other disk are working fine.

Thanks for helping

greetings

piet


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 6:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 5:45 am
Posts: 11
no solution for this problem ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 1:50 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 4:01 pm
Posts: 801
Location: ServerElements
http://www.serverelements.com/phpBB2/vi ... f0210534b7


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 9:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 5:45 am
Posts: 11
i fix it.

I have boot from a knoppix cd and addes a ext3 partion on the disk.
after that i start nas lite smb G. Nas detects the hdd and formatet as ext3

now it works ....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 11:08 am
Posts: 225
a couple of other solutions to this problem:

stick drive in windows box and format (slow)
download a copy S.M.A.R.T Linux on floppy and type fdisk. Add a partition and save. (very quick as you are not formatting plus you dont need a CD etc)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group